Ekiti 2018: Youths Stage ‘Revolution’ Rally, Pick 35year-old As Candidate

Share this post on social media

Ado Ekiti 696x445 - Ekiti 2018: Youths Stage ‘Revolution’ Rally, Pick 35year-old As Candidate

​Major roads in Ado-Ekiti were held up for more than three hours on Monday as youths staged a massive rally to drum support for their candidate ahead of the 2018 governorship election in Ekiti State.

The youths massed at the popular Nova Junction, Adebayo, and moved in a motorcade through Old Garage to Ajilosun in a rally they tagged ‘Revolution’ and intended to enlighten the Public about their agenda for the state.

They unanimously adopted 35-year old Comrade Tosin Ajibare, from Ikere in Ekiti South Senatorial District.

They gave as major reason for their choice the fact that past leaders had failed the populace.

Ajibare is to contest the election under the banner of the Independent Democrat (ID).

The youths specifically asked the people to reject any candidate presented by Governor Ayodele Fayose for the coming poll.

They also advised the populace to block attempt by former governors, Kayode Fayemi and Segun Oni, to return to government.

 Vibrant and resourceful people should take over power, they said.

Addressing the crowd at the party’s secretariat in the state capital, Ajibare said the youths would begin what he called a ‘political revolution’ in the state in 2018, and described the recycling of leadership as the greatest impediment militating against the state in all spheres.

“To underscore the level of failure of these past and present leaders, they advised us to go to school, we did that but nothing happened afterwards; no jobs, no bursary, no scholarship – all they wanted to be using us for is political thuggery,” he said.

Share this post on social media
Fabinfo staff is a seasoned journalist/writer/social activist/freelancer/blogger.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

You may use these <abbr title="HyperText Markup Language">HTML</abbr> tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>